Deconstruction of a Garden

It’s been a hectic week in the garden as I race against time to get everything harvested before our first snowfall, which here in the Yukon could come at any time now. The last of the peas have been picked and the pea plants pulled and thrown into one of my two compost piles. Ditto for the lettuce, beets, my second planting of radishes and the swiss chard.

The potatoes are dug and stored in my hall closet. I continue to work away at my big mound of carrots. This week-end I’m going to pickle some of them and freeze some more.

The onions are laid out to dry in the back yard and the zuccini, cucumber and squash plants are in their final resting place in the compost heap.

At this point I’ve left the tomato and bean plants in the greenhouse, holding out hope that I’ll get a few more ripe specimens. The brussel sprouts are just coming into their own and I still have a lot of broccoli, much of which I’ll give to my neighbour who showed up at my place in early June with a dozen little plants that she had no room for in her own garden. There’s also still the celery, turnips and the herbs to harvest.

No wonder I’m feeling tired this week!

Onions drying on the old picnic table
Onions drying on the old picnic table
One more good frost and the brussel sprouts will be ready for eating.
One more good frost and the brussel sprouts will be ready for eating. Below, the compost pile is almost as tall as I am!
The compost pile is almost as tall as I am!
4 thoughts on “Deconstruction of a Garden

  1. I think you’re a gardening wonder. And this is all with a late start and a greenhouse behind schedule. Just imagine what it’s going to be like to put your feet up in the winter, knowing that you have a larder full of preserves! Wish I could be a cook in your kitchen just now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

