I Will Remember You

from today's Globe and Mail
from today's Globe and Mail

To my Uncle George, who died at sea during World War II: I will remember you.

To my Uncle John, who came back from that war so shellshocked that he spent the rest of his days in a home being cared for: I will remember you.

To my Uncle Henry, who drank himself silly to forget the horrible things he’d seen and had to do during the war: I will remember you.

To my cousin Chester, who to this day can’t listen to the bagpipes because he says they bring back to life all the horrors he witnessed during the war: I will remember you.

To my dad and his best friend Garth, who went through all the training and were about to be shipped overseas when, thankfully, the war ended: I will remember you.

To my friend Elaine’s dad, who escaped a German prisioner of war camp and was shot in the neck doing so, but who somehow managed to survive: I will remember you.

To my friend Lynn’s dad, who spent months in a Japanese prisoner of war camp and was forced to eat rats and bugs to survive: I will remember you.

To all the mothers who have suffered the grief of losing children or husbands to war: I will remember you.

To the hundreds of thousands of people around this globe who have been killed, maimed, tortured, raped, starved, forced into camps, left homeless or without family, all in the name of war: I will remember you.

Some day – SOME DAY – our leaders will realize that war isn’t the answer; even with a ‘successful’ outcome, it can’t justify the horrendous damage it causes. SOME DAY, we will find a better way of settling conflict.

I pray that I live to see that day.

One thought on “I Will Remember You

  1. To Mother Earth, blown apart and plundered and polluted in the name of ‘winning or defending’, I will remember you.
    To all the doctors, nurses, firefighters, morticians and gravediggers on both ‘sides’, I will remember you.

    Give Peace a chance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

