Extracting a Pound (or 20) of Flesh

For the majority of my life I have been slim. In fact I used to be one of those people who could eat as much as I wanted and never gain an ounce. I was able to get into my favourite jeans a week after have Alan, and it was the same with Iris.

Around about the time Jamie came along though, my metabolism changed, and for the past 15 years my weight has inched up to the point where I am 20 pounds more than I want to be.

I’ve moaned and groaned about this for several years. I exercise regularly, I eat pretty healthy food, so why was this happening? Well, about a month ago I decided I’d had enough. I didn’t feel good about myself and I was going to do something about it. So I’ve put myself on a bit of a program that really is all about portion control. I guess I’d lost sight of what a proper portion was. As a resut, I’ve lost six pounds and my goal is to lose another four by Christmas. I want to lose the other 10 by my birthday in April.

Even six pounds makes a difference….my clothes are loose (almost too loose) and people are noticing. Some weeks I’ve only lost one pound; others two or more. My goal is to have slow and steady weight loss – nothing drastic. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Extracting a Pound (or 20) of Flesh

  1. All the best to you!
    I too am one of those that never seemed to gain weight… Until I quit smoking and then went through a major operation a few months later. I am now 8-9 kgs heavier than I was this time a year ago and I feel good about it – but this is where it has to stop! If I gain any more, I’ll have to buy a whole new wardrobe and THAT I have no intention of doing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

