Let the Celebrations Begin!

As I sit here writing this, the smell of freshly baked cookies is wafting my way. They’re for tonight’s Advent Garden celebration. If you’re not familiar with this ritual, see here and here for my postings about last year’s event, which was at my place. This year someone else is hosting, so all I need to do is make cookies and show up.

This celebration is a reminder of the light in all of us and for me it also marks the beginning of the holiday season. It gives me license to fill my advent calendar tree with treats (even at the ripe old ages of 15, 19 and 21 my children still jostle over whose turn it is on which day to pull the chocolate out of the calendar), set out the Christmas village on the large window sill in the living room, and – of course – launch into cookie making mode. Today it was Double Chocolate Cranberry cookies. They’re yummy and they’re a good way to make use of all the wild cranberries Joe and I picked this fall. Here’s the recipe:

1 cup of butter
1 cup of brown sugar
Cream together butter and sugar until you can’t see any chunks of butter. Add:
1 teaspoonful of vanilla
1 egg
2 tablespoonfuls of milk
In another bowl combine:
2 cups of flour
1/2 cup cocoa
3/4 teaspoonful of baking soda
3/4 teaspoonful of baking powder
1/2 teaspoonful of salt
Mix these ingredients and add them slowly to the batter. Finally, add:
1/2 cup of chocolate chips
1 1/2 cup of wild cranberries (fresh or frozen, but if frozen do not thaw them first)
Mix together, form into small balls and bake on cookie sheets at 350 degrees F for 12 – 15 minutes, depending on your oven.