Just Another Typical Binger Christmas

I’m at work this morning to take care of a few things and as I write this, colleagues are popping by my office to wish me Merry Christmas as they head on home to begin the holidays. I will follow as soon as I finish this rather hasty post. 

Luckily, I haven’t had to do anything this morning that required too much concentration since I’ve only had about three hours of sleep. Jamie had a couple of friends over last night, and as teenage boys tend to do, they sounded like a herd of elephants running up and down the stairs all night. Finally at 2:30 I sent them to bed, and that’s when I noticed a teenage girl who I’d never met standing in my livingroom. She was apparently a friend of one of the boys staying over. I asked her if she needed a ride and she said no, she just lived up the street. I suggested it was time for her to go home. But once I sent her out the door, I doubted myself. It was a cold night and she had a light coat on. And I think she’d been partying.  I hummed and hawed but in the end I pulled my coat on over my pjs and started out the door. She hadn’t gotten very far (yes, now I was sure she’d been partying) so I walked her home and made sure she got in the door. By the time I got back half an hour later I was wide awake, courtesy of the frigid December air. So I tossed and turned until I fell asleep sometime between 5 and 6, only to have to get up at 7.

I need to get my second wind though because there’s still lots to do today. There are the tortiere pies to make and the house to tidy before our dozen or so guests arrive this evening. There’s the turkey to brine, the last of the cookie plates to make up and a few phone calls to make to family and friends. Joe will take care of the rest of the food for tonight – an array of appetizers – and we have some visiting to do this afternoon. 

No time to post any more – let the festivities begin. Merry Christmas everyone!

One thought on “Just Another Typical Binger Christmas

  1. Merry Christmas to you too. Sounds like your day is very full. I think you were smart to walk her home – better safe than sorry. I’m at my mum’s early because of the snow down here. Glad I did that as we had quite a snowfall last night and it’s still coming down. My mother wouldn’t even have been able to get the car out. I’m a bit discombobulated though because I wasn’t planning on leaving until today. Have fun tonight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

