The Little Blue Dress

Back in the early ’80s, Joe bought me a blue dress. It was designed and sewn by a seamstress in Ontario and in my mind it was (still is) gorgeous: French Chantilly lace, simple lines, and in my favourite colour. You can see it here, in this photo taken about 25 years ago at my brother-in-law’s wedding (yes, the picture screams 1980s, but I think the dress itself has withstood the test of time). 

blue-dress0001

In spite of the fact that I haven’t fit into that dress in many years, I’ve never been able to let it go. So last night, just on a whim, I pulled it out and tried it on.

No, it didn’t fit as it should…it’s still too tight. But just the fact that I could actually get it over my hips is no small feat. So here’s my new goal: I want to be able to wear that dress at my 50th birthday party in April. I might be aiming a little high, but I think I can do it. Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “The Little Blue Dress

  1. Mornin

    It is a known fact that clothes designed that long ago always shrink. This I can tell you first hand as I have had to dispose of many pieces designed as little as 10 years ago. Maybe science will ammend that problem some day.

    Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

