Educating my Palate

Almost a year ago, I joined the Opimian Society as a way of educating myself a bit about wine. Along with the ability to order various cases of wines from all over the world, it offers what are known as Select Cases. Eight times a year, someone who knows alot more about wine than I do chooses six different bottles from a particular region and sends them to subscribers. So far, I’ve received Select cases from Italy, California and two different regions of France. Still to come are wines from Spain, Agrentina, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand. I was even able to place a special order for some scotch. The only down side is that there is a fairly limited supply from Canada, apparently because the producers of our best wines tend to sell them farm gate, where they can make a higher profit margain.

While many of the wines need a bit (or more than a bit) of cellaring, I have tried several bottles, and there was only one that I didn’t enjoy.  My favourite so far has been an Italian red from the Delibori winery. Light but scrumptious! I will definitely order a whole case of it the next time it’s offered.

If you’re interested in learning more about wine, The Naked Vine  is worth a visit.  This site is good for the basics.

 Cheers!

One thought on “Educating my Palate

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you! You made my weekend. I’m glad that you’ve found something interesting in all of my wine ramblings. You look like you’ve got a joyful corner of the Yukon.

    Enjoy!

    -Mike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

