Visits With My Daughter

Any of you who read this blog regularly know that my daughter has been away at school for the last two years. Nonetheless, I have been visiting her three times a week. And I only have to drive five minutes to see her.

If you go to the Northern Lights School of Dance, you will notice a wall of photos of some of the dancers who have taken classes at the school over the years. Iris is in many of these shots. Since I take classes there myself three nights a week, I get to see her regularly. The odd time someone has even walked in and caught me touching one of the photos or talking to it. No, I’m not totally batty, although God knows after raising three teenagers I should be. It just feels good to be able to whisper a word or two of encouragement to Iris via her photo, or just to say, “I love you sweetie”. And it’s comforting to know that even though she may be hundreds of miles away, a part of her is still just down the street.

spanish_resized

Leave a Reply

