Garden Murmurings

I shovelled a path to the greenhouse today, and when I opened the greenhouse door, a wonderful warmth greeted me. I could have happily curled up in there with a book if I didn’t have a myriad of other things I needed to get done. One of those other things was moving some of my little seedlings that are growing in the sunny window of our family room into bigger pots. I’ve got two different types of cuks, four types of tomato plants, some celery, broccoli, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, red cabbage, zucchini and corn all coming along quite nicely; in the case of the corn, almost too nicely. It’s already six inches tall and since I plan to plant it outside, I’m worried it’s going to get too big before all the snow is gone and the ground ready for planting.

It feels good to be ‘garden puttering’ once again. It’s been such a long winter that it feels like years since I’ve had my hands in dirt.

One thought on “Garden Murmurings

  1. Glad to hear you were out in your healing garden again and I am already imagining the wonderful meals that you will be able to put together. Just put my SPUD order in and there still isn’t much that’s local to choose from. It still doesn’t compare with how long you have to wait, but things are late here this year. It is at this time of the year that I have to relax my ‘just local’ policy and start ordering things that are grown further afield, otherwise I start to look like a root vegetable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

