My New Toy

I’m not a gadget kind of person. In fact over the last couple of years I’ve worked to get rid of all those kitchen gadgets that were languishing unused at the back of my kitchen cupboards. But today I received something that I am quite tickled with.

It’s called a butter bell and it’s a tool that was first used in France at a time before electricity and refrigeration. The idea is to put some softened butter into a cup, and then invert that cup and put it inside a larger cup that contains a small amount of cold water. This creates a seal and keeps the butter soft but fresh for weeks. All you have to do is change the water every few days.

Pretty clever, mais oui? 

butter_bell1

Excuse my plum stained fingernails!
Excuse my plum stained fingernails!
Voila. Butter that's soft but not rancid.
Voila. Butter that's soft but not rancid.
2 thoughts on “My New Toy

Leave a Reply

