No Impact Week

I have been following No Impact Man’s  blog for quite some time now. I’m sure by now you will have heard about him, what with both a book and a movie having just been released. Colin Beavan is the New Yorker who spent a year making changes in his behaviour so that he would reduce his ecological footprint to almost zero. It meant no cars, busses, airplanes, taxis, elevators, tv, refrigerators, washers or dryers, no food in disposable containers, no disposable anything…the list was a long one and he did things that I have no interest in trying (like giving up toilet paper). 

Now he and the Huffington Post are inviting people to try a No Impact Week, which starts today. A year was too overwhelming for me, but a week – that I think I can handle. And while I generally shy away from these kind of group ‘events’, I’ve decided to give this one a whirl.

Today’s task: curb my spending, and collect all the garbage I create in one place so that I can see exactly what kind of volume I am producing.

I will blog about my successes and failures each day, and by the end of the week I hope to have a better idea of exactly what kind of impact I’m having on the earth, and what I’m prepared to do about it over the longer term. Wish me luck.

By the way, if you have any interest in joining me, you can sign up here.

2 thoughts on “No Impact Week

  1. I shall follow your experiment with interest. I think I am already sort of doing this without going all the way. One of the things I don’t want to give up is tissues. There’s something about being able to take the cream off my face with a tissue, not to mention blowing my nose, that I like, sort of like the t-paper – however, I know I could do just as well with hankies, and we did when I was a child. It’s strange, the things one gets attached to. Sometimes I wonder if we need to do this as a sort of dress rehearsal.

    Like

  2. Sounds good.
    Ahhh i can’t start today though…….
    But toilet paper is easy 🙂 I might read today, about Impact man’s solution.
    but if you want to know, i tell you mine. (Honest it’s beter then toilet-paper)

    Like

Leave a Reply

