Part 2 of the Dreaded Grocery Shop

bulk food
Photo credit: http://www.ehow.com

 Well, I have to give credit to the Great Canadian Superstore. I just went there to pick up some groceries that I neglected to purchase yesterday (see my last post to find out why) and I see that they have added a whole new bulk food section to the store. To my surprize, I was able to get just about everything I needed without the added packaging: sunflower seeds, almonds, peanuts, baking soda, baking powder, and even some dark chocolate almond bark (I’ve been craving chocolate for three days but didn’t buy any because of the packaging). The bulk section also has things like white and brown sugar, flour, and all the items it had before like beans, soup mixes, candy, etc. There’s a lot more I’d like to see there, but still…it’s a pretty good start.

Along with some bulk garlic and some bananas, the only things I bought that had packaging were some toilet paper and taquitos. Yes I know: the taquitos, from one of the inner convenience isles, are not a good choice. My youngest has been nagging me for ‘junk food’ and I justified the purchase by telling myself that the cardboard box they are in can be composted and they at least aren’t wrapped in plastic.

2 thoughts on “Part 2 of the Dreaded Grocery Shop

  1. I am encouraged that even the ‘big yellow store’ is finally making some more sustainable moves. It’s isn’t the goal I’m looking for but it is a step in the right direction, and I find myself grudgingly acknowledging the progress. Now if we could just step it up a notch! Good for you for engaging in your experiment. It all helps send a message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

