The Silver (er Red Silk) Lining

In my post from earlier today, I neglected to mention the silver lining to my current situation. Yes, there is always a silver lining to any situation. In this case the adage should be changed to a red lining. A beautiful, lipstick red raw silk lining.

You see, my flu-induced (and temporary I am sure) weight loss has allowed me to fit into one of my favourite skirts that I haven’t been able to wear in years. It’s one that I made more than 20 years ago after returning from an extended trip to India and Nepal. I saw the fabric in a store in Rajasthan and couldn’t pass it up.

Unfortunately, when I made the skirt I didn’t take into account the fact that hiking the Annapurnas and dealing with your typical Montezuma’s Revenge for days on end meant that I was at an abnormally low weight, even for a svelte 26 year old. So it wasn’t too long before the skirt was just too tight on me. I’m sure that will be the situation again very soon so I thought I’d take advantage of my temporary smaller than usual body mass, and the fact that it’s the Christmas season, to wear my skirt to work today. If that doesn’t get me in the festive spirit nothing will!

Not a great photo but it's rather difficult to take a long shot of oneself without a camera with a timer!
One thought on “The Silver (er Red Silk) Lining

Leave a Reply

