A Date With Audrey

Audrey Hepburn has got to be one of the most elegant and graceful actresses of all time. I was reminded of that fact over the week-end when I rented two of her films: Funny Face and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I don’t think I’ve watched those movies since I was a kid.

Oh my! Her clothes! Of course she had Hubert de Givenchy designing most of them for her, but still…I think she would have looked exquisite in a flour sack.

I read a funny story about the first time she met Givenchy. He thought he was getting a visit from the famous Katharine Hepburn. When young Audrey arrived on his doorstep he tried to dismiss her, not realizing who she was. He was forgiven for his mistake and the two became life-long friends. 

With my whistle wetted, I’m now anxious to re-watch her other films. Roman Holiday and Sabrina are high on my list (Sabrina has the added bonus of co-starring Humphrey Bogart). Then of course there is Gigi and My Fair Lady. Are there other Audrey fans reading this? If so, what is your favourite film that she made?

3 thoughts on “A Date With Audrey

Leave a Reply

