Zubiri to Pamplona – Part 2

We had made way too much food; enough to feed Napoleon’s army. As other people came into the kitchen to cook their own meals, we urged them to take some of ours.

One of those people was Edda, a woman from Germany. She was just starting her Camino and was on her way to Villafranca (a few weeks along the way) where she was planning to work for a month at the Albergue Ave Fenix. It’s a pretty well known albergue among the Camino crowd because it’s run by a healer by the name of Jesus Jato. Anyone who’s ever walked the Camino before will know of him. Edda too is a healer and has assisted Jesus on a number of other occasions.

As we ate, I asked Edda about her work, and I mentioned how frustrated I sometimes felt because somewhere inside me I believed I had the ability to heal people, but I had never been able to. Interestingly, about a year ago I had an archetype reading and was told my highest purpose on this earth was as a healer.

Edda asked me if I believed in past lives and I said I did. She then said, “You were a healer in a past life but abused that power. Now you’re afraid to use your gift because of what happened in the past.” Hmmm. I didn’t know what to do with that bit of information.

She asked me if I wanted her to try to remove whatever blockages were there. I tried to avoid looking at Jo Anne or Moya but I suspected they thought this woman was a wacko. Jo Anne in particular is pretty straight laced when it comes to the medical/health field and had already mentioned to me she doesn’t put much stock in alternate medicine. I, however, was intrigued. I said yes.

So after dinner, Edda and I found a quiet corner in the kitchen and she began her work. My eyes were closed so I don’t know exactly what she did. I knew one of her hands was above my head because I could feel some fairly intense heat there. I felt energy moving through my body; I was slightly dizzy.

After what might have been five minutes (I seemed to lose track of time) she stopped. I burst into tears and gave her a big hug; both acts being rather uncharacteristic of me. I don’t make it a habit of going around hugging people I have just met and I’m generally not a cryer.

When I left her, I felt as though I were on some very good drugs. And I had incredible energy. I could have run up and down the Pyrenees all night. There was no way I was ready for bed.

So out into the evening I went, walking around the old part of Pamplona. I strode past the 15th century cathedral and  the Citadel with its moat and imposing walls. I peeked into store windows. At one point I even started running…I had to burn off this energy!

When I got back to the albergue, I noticed there were two big entrance doors. One was heavy wood. The other appeared to be glass. I tried the wooden door but it was locked. Shoot…I had missed my curfew and would now be locked out for the night. I tried again. No luck. Then looking through the glass door I noticed someone at the desk. I motioned to them to come over and let me in. They looked puzzled. I gestured again, indicating the door was locked.

They walked over to me – looking more puzzled than ever – and said, “This door (indicating the glass door) is open.” It was only then that I realized there was no glass at all…the doorway had been wide open all along. I felt like a total idiot and grinned sheepishly at him as I quickly escaped to the sleeping area.

Once in bed, there was another problem. Now all I wanted to do was laugh. It was one of those awful moments when, as hard as I tried, I couldn’t stop giggling. I tried to muffle the sound, not very successfully. I felt like Alastair Sims when he woke up after being visited by the three spirits and discovered he hadn’t missed Christmas Day; like him I felt like standing on my head! 

God knows how I ever got to sleep that night. I did spend some time trying to heal my left knee, which had for the past couple of days had been giving me a lot of pain. The next morning, it seemed somewhat but not totally better. Who knows if it’s anything I did or if it was the Ibuprofin I had taken earlier in the evening.

This Camino just keeps getting more and more interesting!

Note: I never saw Edda again. I inquired about her when I arrived in Villafranco but no one knew of her. I didn’t even get a chance to meet Jesus Jato, as he wasn’t around either while I was in the town. One-off meetings are common on the Camino but I was disappointed that I didn’t get an opportunity to spend some time with Edda again.

A section of the wall around the Citadel. Unfortunately not a good photo but I had other things on my mind at that point!
Leave a Reply

