Viana to Ventosa – Part 1

Walked today: 28.9 kilometres
Total walked so far: 186.3 kilometres

Making yesterday a short day was one of the best things I could have done for myself. Today I felt rested, stronger, and in less pain. “Alright,” I thought to myself, “Let’s see if I can catch up to my friends.” And I did. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Most of the walk was quite lovely. Coming into Logrono I stumbled across an old lady living in a higgly piggly house that looked like it could topple at any time. She was there with two mangy looking dogs, offering to stamp pilgrims’ passports. She was also selling coffee and had a few cookies set out. I didn’t buy anything from her but I did get a stamp and afterwards felt guilty when I (too late) realized I should have left her a small donation.

Some hours later, I came to one of the few unattractive spots on the Camino. A major highway was running parallel to the trail and on the other side of me there was an industrial plant of some sort. But for at least a kilometre people had woven hundreds of wooden crosses into the chain link fence that ran along the highway side of the Camino. I stopped to snap some photos and to add my own cross for my sister-in-law Susan. I remembered her wonderful laugh and could have sworn I heard it again over the noise of the traffic.

Stamps in my pilgrim's passport
Wooden crosses woven into the fence
A cross for Susan
Excuse the pun, but this is a bulletin board on the hill above the crosses.

Benches in what I think was Logrono (I didn't make note of which city I was in when I snapped this photo).
Benches in what I think was Logrono (I forgot to make a note of which city I took this photo in).
Leave a Reply

