Villafranca del Bierzo to La Faba – Part 3

Spain is a pretty meat heavy country. So when Jo Anne approached me later in the afternoon wondering if I wanted to eat dinner at a funky little vegetarian restaurant, I jumped at the chance.

The restaurant is run by a 50-ish year old German man named Marcel who has lived in northern rural Spain for the last 25 years. He’s one of those people with piercing eyes that you feel can see right through to your very soul. His restaurant (there are also rooms upstairs for rent) is in an ancient building that he has brought back to life. Its centrepiece is a large firepit in the middle of the room. The walls are decorated with all sorts of eastern art and statues. Very interesting atmosphere. Much of the food he serves is grown in his own garden.

Something was on Marcel’s mind the night that about eight of us gathered at his place for dinner. He wasn’t sharing much but when we asked him if he would be eating with us he was ambivalent, saying he didn’t have an appetite because he was dealing with some personal issues.

For the second time in less than a week I had that urge to reach out and do some healing work. I felt stupid about the whole thing…who did I think I was to believe I had any such abilities? Even if I did, I had no idea how to use them. However the impulse was so strong that at one point I literally sat on my hands so as not to reach out and touch him.

The vegetarian restaurant in La Faba
Donkey on the main drag in La Faba
Leave a Reply

