Arzua to Arca do Pino

Distance walked today: approximately 20 kilometres
Total travelled so far: 782.1 kilometres

Since today was going to be a short day of walking, I had the luxury of sleeping in. I got up at around 7:15, had a shower (such a novelty to have a morning shower!), and went downstairs to meet the others for an 8 o’clock breakfast. We didn’t actually get on the road until about 9 a.m. 

Today’s walk was quite pleasant, although once again it was hard to get the body moving. The best part about the day was that we had very little rain and by the time we checked into a hotel in Arca do Pino, the sun was out and was giving off some heat. I sat on the patio and enjoyed the feeling of sunshine on my face.

I thought about my trip, which was in its dying days. I couldn’t quite believe that in less than 24 hours I would be in Santiago. I had such mixed emotions: my body was ready to stop walking but I was sad that I would soon have to say good-bye to my Camino friends. I wondered if the Camino had changed me; if I’d come out the other end a better person. I honestly didn’t know the answer to that question and as I write this now, a few weeks later, I still don’t know the answer. I think I will be processing my experience for quite some time still.

We had dinner with the three lads from Dublin. Boy could those guys party! I can’t imagine how they were able to drink long into the night, get up the next day, and walk for several hours. In fact we never actually saw them walking and we teased them that they were just taking taxis from place to place. However they insisted that they were putting in an honest day’s walking and said they had the blisters to prove it.

Corn drying on the veranda of a home
Leave a Reply

