Variation on a Theme

Photo courtesy of http://www.blogto.com/city/2008/07/petition_for_backyard_chickens/

For as long as I can remember I have had a re-occurring dream. I discover a new room or section in my house that I didn’t know existed; a room full of all kinds of marvelous things. Last night, for the first time, my dream moved outside. I discovered a whole field that I didn’t know I had and it was over-run with lots and lots of chickens of all types. There were guinea hens, chooks of various breeds, and looking out for them all, a handsome rooster.

I wondered how they had fed themselves all these years, but of course there was plenty of grass, bugs and the like. They looked happy and healthy.

I have had chickens on the brain a lot lately as I impatiently wait for the City of Whitehorse to made a decision on backyard flocks. I understand there is a by-law in the works but who knows how long it will take to actually be put on the books, if it will at all.

By the way, did you know that eggs from hens raised on pasture compared to factory-farmed hens contain:

1/3 less cholesterol

1/4 less saturated fat

2/3 more vitamin A

2 times more omega-3 fatty acids

3 times more vitamin E

7 times more beta carotene

Source:  www.motherearthnews.com

2 thoughts on “Variation on a Theme

  1. I read somewhere recently that even organic, free-run chickens are often debeaked so that they can keep the birds in closer quarters without lethal fights breaking out. So yours would be truly “happy hens”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

