Hibernation Calls

We are into the ‘dark days’ here in the Yukon. It’s not quite 3:30 in the afternoon, and it’s already getting dusky. The fact that it’s been snowing most of the day doesn’t help matters.

It’s days like this that I have to force myself to leave the house. All I really want to do is sit by the fire with a book and a cup of tea. What I did instead was go to one of the big Christmas craft fairs that is on today in Whitehorse. But it was a half-hearted attempt; there wasn’t really anything I needed or even wanted. I did purchase a new mug, only because my collection of nice pottery mugs is on the wane. But that was it.

Feeling I’d fulfilled my duty, I quickly returned home where I made a big pot of turkey soup, roasted some cauliflower for a pasta dish I’m making for tomorrow’s dinner, cleaned out the fridge and chopped some wood (usually Joe’s job but he’s still in Ontario and Jamie wasn’t around to ask). So now I really can sit by the fire and read.

My book of choice today is Emma Donoghue’s ‘Room’. I was a tad reluctant to start it, given the subject matter (the book is set in a small locked room, where a woman has been held against her will for the past seven years. Raped repeatedly, she has a five year old boy and the story is told from his perspective). However I was hooked from pretty much the first page.

So off I go to stick my nose in this book. Hibernation is loudly calling.

Leave a Reply

