Chili, the Ultimate Comfort Food

For a very long time, chili has been a mainstay of my diet. Not when I was a kid…my father wasn’t keen on anything that reminded him of the meals he ate while in the Air Force, so my mother never made it. But certainly once I left home it was perfect for a starving student’s budget. When I lived in Iqaluit, my Saturday morning routine (at least in the winter) was to get up early, head off to the Hunters and Trappers store for my weekly supply of caribou and char, and come back to make either a big pot of stew or chili and a couple of loaves of bread.

Nowadays I don’t have to go any further than my freezer for the meat. Sometimes it’s caribou. Sometimes it’s moose. On rare occasion it’s bison. Today it was moose. And I decided to experiment. Instead of cooking it in a pot as I usually do, I browned the meat in my dutch oven, added all the rest of the ingredients, and put it in a very slow oven for a few hours. For the last 20 minutes I bumped up the heat and added a chili cornbread topping. Yum! Perhaps even my dad would have eaten this.

Leave a Reply

