A Day in the Life Of…

 

My day started in the kitchen, doing some baking...
...some uber healthy baking!
Then Joe and I went off to a yoga class, followed by a potluck lunch (thus, the baking). Unfortunately we couldn't actually stay for the potluck, because...
We had to get to a hockey game between the team that Joe's godson plays on, and a team from New Brunswick. This was part of the Hockey Day in Canada festivities. Sadly, the home team lost, but they put up a good fight.
Next on the agenda was (I thought) the opening of an art exhibit that included work by my friend and neighbour Linda. Unfortunately I got my dates wrong: the opening was last night instead. I did get a chance to enjoy the exhibit for a bit anyway before the gallery closed for the day. Photo courtesy of http://www.artsunderground.ca/yasgallery.htm .
And finally, to end the day, I'm off to see the movie Incendies, another of the films on offer at this year's Available Light Film Festival. A full day indeed!

Post script: Incendies blew me away! It holds within it a stunner of a secret that shouldn’t be believeable but nevertheless somehow is. It’s a powerful film that is a worthy choice I think for Best Foreign Film.

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life Of…

  1. Here is the recipe:

    1/2 cup flour of your choice
    2 cups rolled oats – not instant
    1/2 cup oat bran
    1.2 cup coarsely chopped flax seed
    1/2 cup wheat germ
    1 tsp. sea salt
    1 tsp. cinnamon
    1/4 tsp. nutmeg
    1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
    1 cup dark cholocate, broken into pieces
    1/2 cup sunflower seeds
    1/4 cup healthy oil of your choice
    2 tsp. olive oil
    1 tsp. vanilla extract
    dried fruit (chopped) – optional

    Mix all ingredients; add 1 1/2 to 2 cups of yoghurt (enough to bind the ingredients into a stiff mixture)

    Bake in an oiled pan at 350 degrees for about half an hour. Cut into squares when cooled.

    Like

  2. I heard about Incendies after it was screened here, so I was so happy to see it as one of the few good movie selections Air Canada offers on its flights. Yes, it is powerful. I recommend it to everyone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

