Party Frocks

The Christmas party season is upon us, and I’ve been scouring the local consignment and thrift stores for a dress to wear (I rarely buy anything new any more, especially if it’s a dress I’m only going to wear a couple of times). My search has turned up dozens of party frocks from the 1980s, with their exaggerated shoulder pads and their ten pounds of sequins. In spite of myself, I can’t help but love them. How can dresses like this not make you smile:

However I was looking for something more in the style of the late 40s or early 50s, and I think I’ve found it. I’m still building the outfit but I’ll post photos when it’s all together.

In spite of my advancing age, I still sometimes feel like I’m that little girl playing dress-up in my mother’s bedroom.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Party Frocks

  1. I was just thinking that it was time I put something together that was fun. I have a boat cruise celebration dinner at the end of my course in a few weeks time. I don’t want to go over the top or spend anything. It’s just an occasion and I don’t usually have occasions. Maybe a trip to VV is in order. I remember all those big shoulders, especially in evening wear. Wow. We looked like glittery heavy-weights. I’m sure they will come back into style, but with a twist, as always!

    Like

Leave a Reply

