Here’s to Purple Shoes and Great Marketing

The product itself isn’t much to speak of. These purple shoes on ebay are not in good enough shape to consider buying. But I have to love the description that goes with them:

“When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandles, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
And learn to spit…”

– Jenny Joseph

Researchers have shown that vintage shoes can be highly addictive. A surprising fact – or perhaps not, when you remember your first pair.

You lived in those shoes.  People compared you to Audrey Hepburn, Princess Grace. You smiled politely. Knew you were actually incomparable. Went right out and ordered a dozen or so more, just like it.

Somewhere in the world, there is a woman who owns just one such pair of shoes. Or so they say.

If so – if you must own just one pair of these wild couture wonders – they should be this pair.  Deep, lovely purple Brazilian glove leather temptresses blessed with 3 1/2″ stiletto heels and over sized purple suede bows at the backs of the shoes.

Very 80s.  Very one of a kind.  
Very – well, you.

Here’s to purple, and purple shoes like these, and all of you purple addicts who make the world a prettier, brighter, more interesting place.

Made in Brazil.  Found in Beverly Hills, home to more addicts per square mile than the catwalks in Milan.

Intervention may be called for.
Take away the credit cards.

 

 

Leave a Reply

