Sea of Shoes

I stumbled across a blog the other day called Sea of Shoes. It was started five years ago by a 15-year old from Texas, Jane Aldridge. She has apparently become one of the most influential fashion bloggers going. A number of high fashion houses from around the world have started correspondence with her after seeing her blog, sending her gifts, collaborating with her on projects, etc. Chanel even loaned her one of their couture gowns to wear to a ball in Paris!

For me it isn’t about the labels or the high price tags, but rather the genuine, exquisite beauty of many of her clothes and accessories. I have no idea how she finances her habit (I have a hard enough time financing mine and there’s slim pickings as far as haute couture in my closet)!  But check it out and let me know what you think.

A few of my favourites are here, here, here, herehere, the black jacket here and the one here. I could go on, but you get the idea.

3 thoughts on “Sea of Shoes

  1. Zeese won, shee haz zee aiyee! It’s the eye that puts it all together, otherwise it’s an exquisite piece of clothing hanging in a closet. My faves: the beaded jacket with the black, striped sandals and the red furry coat. Now for the guided tour of the NY consignment stores!

    Like

  2. I don’t give two hoots about fashion (I am all about my rubber boots! heheh), but I am amazing at her success at such a young age. That is quite the achievement for 20!

    Like

  3. Kara: I agree with you in terms of her success at 20. And Lucca: I agree with you too. She puts things together to create a real work of art, like a chef that uses fine ingredients to make a gourmet meal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

