King Crab Season

I spent the last two days in Vancouver for work. In spite of the full meeting schedule, I did eek out some time to spend with Iris and my friend Lucca. It’s king crab season, so the three of us went off to the Sun Sui Wah Seafood Restaurant last night for a huge and delicious (albeit rich!) feast.

We had the crab three ways: steamed with tonnes of minced garlic, deep-fried with a wonderfully light batter, and the carapace (head) stuffed with with rice, scallops, mushrooms and other good things, and smothered in a rich sauce. It reminded me of a cross between a paella and a risotto.

We supplemented with a dish of pea shoots and mushrooms and a hot and sour veggie soup.

I’m sure I walked out a good 10 pounds heavier than when I went in!

Iris and our dinner
Crab three ways
So good!!
Leave a Reply

