Hunting, Venice-Style

I spent much of this morning searching for a room in Venice for Jamie and I that wasn’t going to require me taking out a second mortgage. It’s no secret that Venice is one of the most expensive cities in Italy, but I have my heart set on seeing it nonetheless.

After pouring over guidebooks, tripadvisor.com, and getting referrals from hotels that had no vacancies, I was finally able to secure a room at Casa Rezzonico. It sounds like it’s in a quiet part of the city but close enough that we can easily get to everything, plus our room will overlook a small canal. I read somewhere that the photo on the cover of the 9th edition of the Lonely Planet guidebook for Italy (the 10th is the most current one) was taken from this hotel, but I’ll believe it when I see it.  Even if that’s not the case, I’m sure it will be worth eating peanut butter sandwiches for a month to pay for this experience!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

