The Curious Caribou

I went on a hike today with a few friends up Montana Mountain, about an hour and a half from my house. The scenery was stunning. Unfortunately I can’t show you because the batteries on my camera crapped out on me early in the day. 😦

Before that happened, I did manage to capture a couple of photos of a caribou we saw on a ridge. This one (the first of three we spotted during our hike) was so curious, and started walking toward us. One of my friends held up her two hiking poles so they looked like antlers. Now the caribou was really intrigued. It started running to us. Who knows how close it may have come had my friend’s dog not start to whine and bark. It eventually veered off, but it watched us for a long time before continuing on its way.

My camera died before I could get shots of when it was the closest to us, but here are a couple of when it first discovered we were there.

Leave a Reply

