Replenishing the Wine Cellar

I went to our annual local wine festival last night. There are always an overwhelming number of choices at these things, so I focussed my time on reds from Italy, Spain, France and Argentina.

Here’s what I came home with:

2001 Valiano Vino in Musica Toscana IGT: this was probably one of my favorites of the lot. At almost $42 a bottle, it’s not a wine I would buy everyday, but it is delicious like candy. An Italian wine.

Cave de Lugni Crement de Bourgogne Brut Rose: this was the only sparkling wine I bought, and the only French one. I tend not to drink a lot of rose, but this one was especially sparkly and celebrative. I loved it.

Tedeschi Amarone Valpolicella Classico 2007: A wine from Venice. Almost like port, and absolutely delicious! Likely my top pick of the night.

Di Majo Norante Sangiovese 2010: I didn’t realize how many Italian wines I’d bought until I got home and started to unpack the box. It was less than $17 but tastes like a much more expensive wine to me.

Casal Thaulero Merlot Cabernet Sauvignon 2008: the least expensive of the wines I purchased, at $14.90. Only goes to show price doesn’t always mean much, since I loved this wine.

Santa Cristina Toscana Sangiovese 2010: nice if you just want to enjoy a glass of wine without a big meal. This one is from the Tuscany area.

That’s it. However I do want to give a shout out to a Canadian wine I tried last night from the Okanagan. It’s the Covert Farms Estate Winery Amicitia Red. All kinds of flavours that keep going and going and going in your mouth. Plus it’s a wine that is grown organically, something I appreciate. I’ll be bringing some of this home from the liquor store very soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

