Day 4 – Feeling a Bit Peckish

I have been asked by a number of people if I am hungry as a result of this challenge. I have to admit that I am at times. I am a grazer by nature, eating a few snacks throughout the day on top of my meals. On my November food budget, I can’t afford much snacking.

Feeling hungry isn’t a bad thing, as long as it’s not a permanent state.

Here’s today’s summary:

IMG_2857

Breakfast: granola, blueberry yogurt, and a quarter of an organic apple left over from yesterday, along with a thermos full of rosehip tea. Cost: zero dollars (apple was accounted for yesterday and everything else was free). What am I going to do when I run out of yogurt and granola??

Lunch: A bowl of chicken rice soup. Cost: $2.71

Afternoon snack: carrot sticks. Cost: 2 cents

image

Dinner: two-egg omelette with half a caramelized onion and a bit of chicken left over from last night’s dinner (93 cents), sweet potato fries roasted in chicken fat ($1.00), salt and pepper and the small bit of cilantro in the omelette (3 cents). Maybe I was extra hungry, but this tasted so good! Full cost of the meal: $1.96

Total cost for the day:  $4.69

Total ‘credits’ to carry over for another day: $1.64

Tangent: just for fun, I looked on YouTube for a video on how to make the perfect omelette. Found one here. But what had me laughing out loud were the comments posted by viewers. Here’s this guy just trying to show people how to make a simple omelette, and you’d think he’d committed some grievous crime! Chill people!!

3 thoughts on “Day 4 – Feeling a Bit Peckish

  1. You can substitute granola with much cheaper old-fashioned oats – roast and add a little bit of honey or brown sugar, and you’ve got granola.
    What about baking bread?
    Pea soup from split peas is another super cheap, tasty and filling meal, and lentils don’t cost much and go a long way 🙂 Pizza is not expensive to make as long as you don’t heap it with mounds of cheese or fancy toppings.
    Consider making your own yoghurt, using a spoonful of leftover yoghurt as starter culture. It might be cheaper than buying it. No need for a yoghurt maker, you can use a thermos, your oven at warming temperature or a cozy spot by the wood stove.

    Like

  2. Thanks Nicole. Those are all great ideas. The problem I am facing is that I can’t afford to buy flour and yeast to make bread, nor can I afford honey or brown sugar (if I could buy all these things in bulk in small quantities it would be great but I can’t find anywhere in town that sells these things in bulk. If you know of a place please pass it along). Even milk is expensive on my budget. Since I got the whole wheat bread, granola and yogurt free using a credit from Shoppers, I figured that was the way to go given my limited circumstances. Looking back now, it may have been better for me to buy just a small container of yogurt and some milk, so I could make my own yogurt. It probably would have been more cost effective. And my intention certainly had been to make my own bread but it just doesn’t seem possible to me right now. I do have lentils and plan to cook up a big pot this week-end. And yes, I am thinking about split peas too, although I would love a small ham bone to cook with them to really make the soup taste good. I really appreciate your feedback, as I am open to any and all ideas.

    Like

  3. Sorry, I don’t know where you’d be able to get these items in bulk right now – I’m sure you checked at the Superstore already.
    Your budget is tricky because you’re shopping for only one month – we always buy everything in large packages, like 10kg of flour for under $10.-, brown sugar and honey in large quantities too, so it ends up being way cheaper than the constant shopping of small amounts.
    If yours were a longterm experiment where you’d pretend to only have $5.-/day available, I guess the only way to make the food shopping more cost efficient would be look into doing some trading for food or to spend a month on a very basic diet and put money aside for buying things in larger quantity the next month. Realistically, there are always ways to save up a few dollars (there really are – I’ve been living way below what’s considered the poverty line for about 15 years now, and living well 🙂 ).

    Like

Leave a Reply

