Day 9 – I Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

I have wonderful friends. A few of them have approached me expressing concern about my health and asking how I am doing. I appreciate this so much, but want you all to know that I’m fine. I know I’ve been a bit whiny on this blog, but really, I am OK. I have promised friends and family that if it seems this challenge is making me ill, I will stop.

One of my friends has invited me to dinner tomorrow night! It’s in my rules that I can accept dinner at someone’s house once in the month, so I was quick to say yes. Thank you Jocelyn! You have no idea how excited I am!

I am getting low on certain provisions. I used the last of my chicken fat tonight and am trying to figure out a substitute. Also only have a bit of yogurt and one apple left. Apples have been a godsend for me as they’ve been the only fruit I could afford. I will go poking about the grocery store tomorrow to see what I can find to replace them.

I noticed in the Shopper’s Drug Mart flyer that tinned tuna is on sale for 99 cents each, and pasta sauce for $1.49, so I may pick those up. I also noticed Mr. Noodles are on sale for 4/$1.00 if anyone is interested. 🙂 Based on the title of this challenge, I won’t be buying any of those unless I get really down on my luck.

Today’s summary:

Breakfast: 1 slice whole wheat toast with peanut butter: 12 cents

Morning snack: 1 apple: 61 cents

day 9

Lunch: dahl (25 cents) and brown rice (no cost for the rice as it was left over from last night’s dinner), carrot sticks and broccoli stem sticks (2 cents for the carrot; zero cents for the broccoli stems as I calculated them as part of other broccoli servings). Total: 27 cents. The photo doesn’t look like much, but this was actually a tasty and satisfying meal.

image

Dinner: organic sweet potato ($1.00), organic chicken ($2.42), and a serving of steamed broccoli (44 cents). Bit of salt and pepper (4 cents). Butter would have been lovely for my veggies, but not essential. Total: $3.86. I couldn’t finish this whole plate so saved the rest to fortify my lunch time soup tomorrow.

Total for the day: $4.98

Total credits to carry over: $5.03

Leave a Reply

