My Night

Yesterday was a long day. Caleb is sick with a cold and was pretty cranky. I too am sick with a cold and was pretty cranky. By 6:30 last evening, he was in bed and I followed shortly afterwards. I left my bedroom door open so I could easily hear him if he needed me.

7:45 p.m. – Caleb starts to fuss. Chanel trots in to my bedroom to alert me. I quickly send her out (our bedroom is a dog-free zone because of Joe’s allergies). Caleb stops crying after about 30 seconds and goes back to sleep. I, on the other hand, am now wide awake.

8:20 p.m. – Caleb starts coughing. Chanel once again fulfills her self-appointed role of night watchman, and again I send her out of the room. This time I close my bedroom door so she can’t get in. Caleb goes back to sleep. I am still in the throws of insomnia, even though I am exhausted.

9:13 p.m. – Caleb starts to cry, and then I hear the insistent scratches of Chanel’s nails on my door. I get up, send Chanel off to her bed in the family room, and get Caleb a bottle. Fifteen minutes later he is asleep again. I manage to fall asleep shortly after 10.

11:10 p.m. – Scratch, scratch at my door. Caleb is crying. I go comfort him, and he goes to sleep. I put Chanel downstairs and put up the baby gate so she doesn’t have access to the upper floor. I open my bedroom door again.

12:07 a.m. – Chanel is in my bedroom alerting me to Caleb’s crying again. How the hell did she get up here? Another bottle, a diaper change, another forced trip for Chanel back downstairs with a double check of the baby gate, and back to bed for me.

2:57 a.m. – Caleb is crying. Chanel is whining. I am silently screaming. Why is it that there are three adults in this house and I am the only one who does the night shift? I consider running away from home.

4:15 a.m. – Caleb is crying. Jamie has slammed his bedroom door, stomped off to the bathroom, and slammed the bathroom door. I yell at him (Jamie) to JUST BE QUIET! I have many dark thoughts about him. He could offer to help, but instead chooses the role of sulky teenager.

4:25 a.m. – I have just put Caleb back to bed. I hear a loud and prolonged crash. It is Chanel. She has catapulted herself over the baby gate (although probably got stuck at some point during her acrobatic feat) and is once again upstairs. I give up and go back to bed.

6:03 a.m. – Jamie comes to my room with a restaurant quality breakfast…Canadian back bacon, a perfectly cooked cheese omelette, and toast. Joe asks if it is Mother’s Day. Jamie says he just thought I needed it this morning. I shed a few quiet tears and eat it gratefully. I fall back to sleep and get an hour’s rest before Caleb wakes up for the day.

Leave a Reply

