What an Amazing Country!

Joe and I recently returned home from a trip across Canada. Our route:

  • fly from Whitehorse to Nova Scotia
  • fly from Nova Scotia to Toronto
  • take ‘The Canadian’ train from Toronto to Vancouver
  • fly from Vancouver to Whitehorse

I knew we lived in a huge, stunningly beautiful country before our trip. But certainly this holiday solidified that knowledge for me big time.

In Nova Scotia and Southern Ontario, it was the fall colours and the many produce markets that took my breath away; that, and spending time on the land and by the sea where I grew up. So healing.

In Northern Ontario, I fell in love once again with the ruggedness and remoteness of the land. I plan to revisit the work of the Group of Seven very soon, while my eye’s own images are still fresh.

The Prairies – I could never figure out why someone would find them boring! The expanses of land and sky, and the colour play between the two…amazing!

Alberta – well, what can I say about the Rockies? Wow!

And beautiful Vancouver…one of my favourite cities in Canada.

I would highly recommend the train trip between Toronto and Vancouver. Time was suspended during those three days and four nights. If anyone had asked me how long I had been travelling, I would have been hard pressed to give them an exact number of hours. In a way it felt I had always been there.

The meals were all very good, there was time to meet and chat with other travelers (no wifi meant people actually talked to one another!) and the rocking of the train lulled me to sleep in my bunk at night.

I am so lucky to have had the opportunity to take this trip, and luckier still to reconnect with my family, friends, and country.

Feeling patriotic,

Janet

train_annapoloisvalley
Overlooking the Annapolis Valley in Nova Scotia.
train_novascotia_ocean
The red sandstone in the ocean in the Bay of Fundy makes it appear rusty.
train_mcgeelake
Fall colours at McGee Lake, near our family farm.
train_novascotia
So many colourful fall markets in Nova Scotia and Ontario at this time of year. What bounty!
train_connectingwithfamily
Mothers, sisters, aunties, cousins, nieces: reconnecting with my Ontario family.
train_fallcolours
No wonder this is the symbol of our beautiful country!
train_northernontariocolours
Northern Ontario shows its more subtle fall colours.
train_winnipeg_station
The train station in Winnipeg. Gorgeous!
train_winnipeg_dawn
Arriving in Winnipeg just as the sun was coming up. The large building is the Canadian Museum of Human Rights. Very well done and definitely worth a visit.
train_prairies
Earth and sky – the Prairies does it up right.
train_rockies
The Rockies near Jasper. We really do have it all in Canada!
train_vancouver
A fitting end to our train journey in Vancouver.
Leave a Reply

